La Salle celebrates finals qualification with resounding win over Ateneo


Green Archers, Coach Derrick Pumaren are in it for the long haul

2020 from 1991. My goodness!!!!! Thirty years!!!!! How time flies. That's how long Manong Derrick Pumarens' coaching journey took...

What’s in a Word?

Wow what a quarantine period it has been so far. Less than three months into this crap, a plethora...

What if Ben Mbala played 4 UAAP seasons for La Salle?

Make no mistake about it, Ben Mbala is a transcending figure that left a remarkable legacy in the collegiate...

List of ‘Super Classic’ La Salle games that you can watch at home

We know that most of you are stuck at home during these challenging and unprecedented times. And we also...

For Jade Fuentes, a spot on the court isn’t given. It’s earned

If you already thought that the DLSU Lady Spikers’ frontline this past UAAP Season 82 - for one game,...

What Is Important To You?

Before we start this, let us stress that this oft times postponed article is not meant to demean, discredit,...

The Easter of True Reflection

The first happy childhood memories about Easter celebration was the Easter Egg Hunt. When we were a lot, lot,...

It is one thing to enter the finals, it’s another thing to demonstrate why you deserve to be there.

With a fourth straight finals ticket secured, the De La Salle University Women’s Football Team enjoyed a 4-2 victory over archrivals Ateneo de Manila University, Saturday afternoon, at Circulo Verde.

Hans-Peter Smit’s wards were dominant right from kickoff as rookie striker Shai del Campo was denied twice by the Lady Eagles’ crossbar.

Captain Kyra Dimaandal then opened the scoring six minutes into the second half to send La Salle on its way to victory. Irish Navaja then doubled the team’s lead at the 67th minute with a fine finish.

Del Campo then scored twice in the final 10 minutes to kill off any chance of an Ateneo comeback. The Lady Eagles may have scored twice in the last minutes of the contest but it did very little to spoil the contest.

La Salle finally got out of its slump following two successive draws while Ateneo is out of finals contention. The team now has 15 points at the top of the standings.

“We need to take every game as preparation for us to get yo the finals. At least the morale of the girls will be a little bit higher than normal. It’s a good win,” said Smit.

La Salle ends its elimination round campaign against Far Eastern University on May 8, 2019, at the same venue.