Montelibano double carries La Salle to sweet victory over Ateneo

The wait is finally over.

After three barren years, the De La Salle University Men’s Football Team emerged victorious over the Ateneo Blue Eagles with a 2-1 win, Thursday afternoon, at the FEU-Diliman turf in Quezon City.

Alfonso Montelibano scored at the 13th and 24th minutes to lead the Green and White to victory. Montelibano drew first blood when he directed the ball into the net after rookie Shanden Vergara intercepted a bad pass in the Blue Eagles’ half. The fifth-year student-athlete then headed the ball past Ateneo goalkeeper Jae Arcilla from his skipper Jed Diamante’s free kick.

Ateneo then pulled a goal back at the 26th minute thanks to De La Salle Canlubang alumnus Rupert Bana’s header, but that was as good as it got for the Katipunan school. La Salle goalkeeper Gab Villacin was in top form all throughout the game and his saves against the Blue Eagles in the second half helped the team finally cross the finish line.

La Salle coach Alvin Ocampo commented, “It’s really a battle of pride eh. Until the last minute, walang talagang gusto magbitaw. It just so happened we had two quick goals. At least we ended the first round with a win and nasa loob kami ng Final Four.”

With the result, La Salle now sits at 2nd place at the end of the first round with 12 points while it also ended Ateneo’s three-game winning streak.


Takeaways from the Green Archers’ 2019 Preseason

The Green Archers finished first-runner up in the recently-concluded Fil Oil tournament. The preseason gave us an early bird look at the team which...

The Green Archers’ preseason tournament finish was a pleasant surprise

The Filoil Flying V preseason tournament is a very good preparatory venue for a college basketball team. The coaches and the players derive a...

Mika Reyes thinks ‘babawi’ ang DLSU Lady Spikers

UAAP Season 81 was unfruitful for the DLSU Lady Spikers, whose quest for a fourth straight championship ended at the hands of Sisi Rondina...

For women’s football awardees, individual glories come after team success

Out of the six individual awards available in the UAAP Season 81 Women’s Football Tournament, four of them were given to the De La...

From the Spot: Almohjili on his post-season form, fasting and Season 82

When Mohammad Almohjili scored at the 77th minute of the finals of the UAAP Season 81 Men’s Football Tournament, the championship looked to return...
- Advertisment -